Fathermucker

gmo-2013_05

A screenwriter, fledgling freelancer, and stay-at-home dad of two, Josh Lansky has held everything together during his wife Stacy’s week-long business trip–until this morning’s playdate, when he finds out through the mommy grapevine that Stacy might be having an affair.  What Josh needs is a break. He’s not going to get one.

“Fierce and funny” (Washington Post)

“FATHERMUCKER is witty, realistic, and charming, replete with a father’s genuine love for his family. An entertaining choice for book clubs members of both genders, particularly those with young children.” (Library Journal)

“This brilliantly insightful novel explores the trials of modern fatherhood through one hectic day… Littered with hilariously genuine anecdotes, parental pathos, and a hearty dose of pop culture, this clever, comic, and compassionate novel will appeal to fans of Jim Lindberg and Jonathan Evison.” (Booklist)

“A lively and keenly observed portrait of twenty-first century parenthood.” (Penthouse)

“All kinds of funny-raucously, wickedly, sweetly, saucily, surprisingly, profanely funny…a wonderful novel, capturing in a single manic day the helpless ache of parenthood and the ceaseless flood of popular culture.”
–Jess Walter, author of Beautiful Ruins and The Financial Lives of the Poets

“..a book you can’t wait for your friends to read, too — an exhilarating and fearless celebration of life’s highs, lows, and all the glorious in-betweens.”
— Maria Semple, author of Where’d You Go, Bernadette?

“…a whip-smart, hilarious, and deeply moving meditation
on fatherhood and marriage.”
–Jonathan Evison, author of West of Here and All About Lulu

“In vivid Crayola yellow, Olear brilliantly highlights the bliss and pathos, fear, loathing and lusting of 21st century parenthood. Yet beneath the sippy cups, crumpled Happy Meal bags, and Mom Jeans intertwined with another dad’s sweatpants on the floor of this runaway minivan of a novel lies much more. FATHERMUCKER is nothing less than a moving and sneakily profound meditation on what it means to exist in these absurd and troubling times.”
— James P. Othmer, author of The Futurist and Holy Water

Fathermucker is a staggering achievement. A reflection on love, marriage and parenthood, so astoundingly honest, laugh-out-loud funny, and genuine, it will break your heart.”
— Robin Antalek author of The Summer We Fell Apart

“I LOVE this book. Packed with fantastically spot-on parenting details, and so funny, I kept reading it out loud to everyone around me (Yes, even the kids. Let’s hope they don’t remember).”
—  Lenore Skenazy, author of the book and blog Free Range Kids

“With candor and wit, Greg Olear takes the reader to the most uncomfortable truths of marriage and parenthood–and yet Fathermucker oozes with vulnerability and love. I burst into tears several times while reading this novel, and was beyond moved by the anguished acceptance of young Roland’s autism. Compassionate, insightful, and laugh-out-loud funny.”
— Susan Henderson, author of Up from the Blue

“Funny, wise, sexy…this claustrophobic vision of contemporary parenting hits home.”
— Thelma Adams, author of Playdate

“Only a writer with the verve, daring and great talent of Greg Olear could pull off a novel that deals with sippy cups, masturbation, autism spectrum disorder, affairs, and playdates all at once. Fathermucker is delightfully unexpected, wholly original, and a joy to read.”
— Jessica Anya Blau, author of The Summer of Naked Swim Parties
and Drinking Closer to Home

Buy a copy.

Also available in German.

Leave a Reply